grumpiness

we are all a little grumpy is this household tonight. Marto, Pip and I spent the afternoon at the hospital where I had a mole removed from my upper thigh. It was pretty painless in the context of surgeries but still uncomfortable and no matter how much I tried to pretend it was no big deal, I still got anxious and felt horribly sweaty from the local anaesthetic needle and then from the adrenalin. I’m not allowed to exercise for two weeks until the stitches are out and it’s a little sore. Meanwhile, we think Pip is starting to teeth. She has been upset all evening, stuffing her hands in her mouth, chewing frantically on anything she can get her hands on, dribbling lots and crying a funny distressed cry. We gave her calpol to be on the safe side and she and Marto are currently out for a walk to try and soothe her to sleep. Delilah meanwhile is on nil-by-mouth in preparation for a tooth extraction for tomorrow morning. We don’t know exactly how she chipped it, but I do know I am glad we have pet insurance as feline dentistry is surprisingly expensive. Suffice to say, she is not happy, and will be less happy when we collect her tomorrow and she is on wet food only and confined to the house for 48 hours.

in other news, our Ergo that I ordered from ebay (to replace our Baby Bjorn sling that Pip is just too heavy for now, giving me terrible backache whenever I used it) has arrived. Sadly, it’s going straight back as I am almost 100% confident that it is a fake. I will post more about this, if anyone is interested. It never occurred to me before this week that people might fake baby stuff. Now I don’t know why I ever thought that people *wouldn’t* fake anything.

the photo is of Pip, her cousin and Delilah, all playing together at the weekend.

 

3 comments

  1. You have your hands full!

  2. Sarah Cook · · Reply

    I had exactly the same operation in June. Just to say take it easy when the stitches come out- mine was on the back of my thigh so the wound closure was quite fragile. Am now applying rosehip oil in the hope it will minimise the scarring. Sounds like you’ve got it all.going on, but really enjoy reading your blogs, even though I’m not a mum (yet).

  3. It is a little busy this week!

    @Sarah – thanks for the tips. I’ll have to look out some rosehip oil. Pleased to hear that you enjoy reading :)

Your thoughts

