31+1

Had my last midwife appointment in Somerset before the big move to London next weekend. I have self referred to the new hospital and get to have a new bookings appointment and scan at 33 weeks.

Pip seems to be doing well. His heart beat is good, he appears to be attempting to settle head down and he is kicking away. Mostly in the afternoons at work now although I can often feel him turning over when I try and settle down to sleep.

It was bittersweet, that last appointment. It was the first one where birth was even discussed and I really liked her “you don’t need lots of internal examinations” angle. “you have the right to refuse”, she said. And she also advised against birthing on a bed, leaping all over the room demonstrating better birthing positions. She favours baths, water births and birthing balls and never mentioned pain relief. I’m a little sad that she won’t be seeing me through to the birth, but equally it is reassuring to know that there are midwives like her. I hope I get someone equally as sane/mad in London.

Your thoughts

